WFMW: Banana Bread Made Easy

works-for-me-wednesday.jpg

First of all, let me just let you all know that, while this button says Rocks In My Dryer, this week is actually being hosted by Don’t Try This At Home, so that’s where the button will actually take you.

Okay, this almost seems too obvious to post, but since it took me so long to realize the advantage of this method, I thought maybe a few of you would appreciate it, too. Don’t slap your forehead too hard!

Okay, so here’s what you do. You line your bread pan with a generous amount of tin foil. Like so.

img_1939.jpg

See how the foil reaches the bottom of the pan on the OUTSIDE on either side? So the original piece was about as long as 5 times the width of the pan.

When the banana bread (or other quick bread) comes out of the oven, you can easily lift it from the pan using the foil edges. This allows it to cool more quickly, so that it will be ready to slice.

img_1943.jpg

When you’re ready to store the loaf, you can simply fold the foil back over it to seal out the air and keep it moist.

img_1948.jpg

Look at your pans! No scrubbing!

img_1952.jpg

Remind me why I ever made banana bread without foil?

16 Responses

  1. Okay, that’s just so simple and so brilliant, I’m impressed. Bake, lift, cool, fold over and store.

    Truly brilliant. Thank you!

  2. Wow!!! I think I may have to make some tomorrow just to try that tip out.

  3. I have GOT to try that. Are you going to share your favorite bread recipe as well? I love having fresh banana bread around the house. Yum! Of course, with my crew it lasts about a day. Still, for that one day it’s delicious.

    Duckabush Blog

  4. OK, you rule! I was just thinking about the little birthday cake I am making for my boy’s first birthday for his playgroup tomorrow. In Germany they make cakes in little bread pans. I was thinking about how do I get it out of the pan in a good way and ice it. Thank you thank you for the tip! I am about to start baking it.

  5. What a great idea! I do this with my roasted potatoes, but had not thought of other uses. Thanks for sharing!

  6. What a cool idea…. I’m gonna try that next time!

  7. brilliant. I can’t believe I’ve been making banana bread without foil!

  8. What a great idea — saves all that pan scrubbing afterward!

  9. Wow!! That is a GREAT idea!

  10. We (my husband does the cooking) have used foil to cover pans before so we can just throw the mess away – but I do love the idea of using enough so that you can wrap the bread or whatever! Great idea. 🙂

  11. Kathy – I was actually just thinking that I needed to take pictures of the whole banana bread making process and post it. I love my banana bread recipe because, not only is it fabulous, but it’s very healthy – whole wheat flour, yogurt or applesauce, flaxseed meal… Every Tuesday, I post a recipe on my cooking blog, MakeshiftMeals.com. Come visit, and I’ll do my best to get the banana bread recipe up sometime in the next few weeks!

  12. What a great idea! You don’t happen to have a good banana bread recipe do you?

    I have been searching for the perfect one and just haven’t found it yet. I like my BB dense but moist and mine alwys turn out dry…bleh…

  13. Your pans are oh so much prettier than mine 😦

  14. […] February 20, 2008 by Jenni There was a great clamor (read: 2 comments) for my banana bread recipe last week, and I would hate to disappoint! Come on over and see why two loaves are gone in two days over […]

  15. Oh my goodness! an amazing article. Thank you!

  16. I am regular reader, how are you everybody?

    This post posted at this web page is truly good.

Leave a comment