Faith in Humanity

Someone told me that America wasn’t ready for a black President.

Someone told me that our nation was too full of hate.

Someone told me that the South was still too full of bigotry.

Someone told me that there were more distrustful white folks than decent color-blind people in the US of A.

That someone was wrong.

Someone told me that America wasn’t ready for a Barack Hussein Obama.

Someone told me that we could only elect Presidents with Western names.

Someone told me that Obama’s name was too Muslim in a Muslim-fearing country.

Someone told me that we could never trust someone who had even the slightest, most disputed tie to Islam.

Someone told me that we could never hand over the leadership of our country to a half-Kenyan man.

That someone was wrong.

I’m not here to gloat.

I’m not hear to say “I told you so.”

I’m just here to say, “We’re better than you thought.”

“We’re bigger men, bigger women than that.”

“We’re greater than our fears.”

“We’re not a nation of bigots.”

“We’ve grown up, all of us.  We’ve grown out of our racist paranoia.”

And so I guess I did tell you so.  And I’m glad to say you’re wrong.  Not because I want to do a victory dance.  Not because I want to rub your face in your misjudgement.

Just because I’m so, so happy that we’re better than you thought we were.

3 Responses

  1. me too.

    well said.

  2. well said.
    One time my grandmother referred to a man as ‘colored’–I really wanted to see this guy–what could be better than a rainbow man?! I really wish she would have lived to see this day. Pretty incredible!

  3. Very well written. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

