Picking Up the Pieces

As some of you know, I got a job at the beginning of October.

And then I quit.

There are a lot of reasons that it didn’t work out, but the biggest two were that:

1. I was just making enough money to cover childcare, gas, and other expenses, leaving no extra  income for bills.

2. The girls were adjusting very, very poorly to being away from me four days a week.

So now I’m back home, and with a renewed gratitude for the opportunity to be my kids’ mom and the manager of Makeshift Manor.

The computer room is covered in toys and board books.  My kitchen floor is sticky.  And I can’t seem to catch up with my laundry to save my life.  But I’m filled with a sense of hope.  Hope, because I’ll be here tomorrow, and the next day, and the next, surrounded by opportunities to make this a better place for my family.

Incidentally, if any of your know of any weekend job openings in my neck of the woods, please let me know.  I still need that extra money to cover the bills…

3 Responses

  1. Hang in there. Take it one step and one load of laundry at a time. You’ll slowly regain a sense of control.

  2. i’m so glad you had this adventure that allowed you to find what your heart truly wanted/ needed. you’re a super fantastic SAHM!

  3. Mike and I tried this for a year too.
    For me, ordering the day became essential. Though I don’t live for order (you have seen my home!) plodding along gave me a sense of accomplishment.
    Another fun thing we did, was to create “Friday Fun-day” (and in true Fajen style, it did, of course, have a theme song). Even in the craziness of regaining my footing we all knew that the adventures we craved were on the way.

Leave a Reply

