Joining the Party

Nester is having a Window Mistreatment Party, and I thought I would join in!

For those of you who don’t know, a window mistreatment is essentially a makeshift window treatment – something that is fast, cheap, does not require sewing, and instantly spruces up the room. Nester is the QUEEN of mistreating windows, and she’s invited up all to join her!

So… here is what our bedroom windows looked like when we moved in:

I gotta admit, I was kinda perplexed about how to handle that little problem corner. BUT… one round side table, two scarves, and two panels of cheapo apartment-type curtains from Freecycle later, and I think it looks a lot more inviting.

Using Nester’s technique of hanging the curtains above the actual window really added height to the room, I think.

Then there’s my kitchen. Do you guys remember my first mistreatment in there? The napkins? Here it is, to refresh your memory:

Well, then I found a cute tiered valance set at Goodwill for $4. I put the valance on the kitchen window, and then I ironed and pinned and tucked until I had turned the little curtain panels into a second valance for the dining room window.

I really think it helps pull the room together!

Finally, we have the girls room:

Nothing fancy, just a $3 cloth shower curtain from Goodwill, cut in half and hung with the cut edges against the wall so that the seamed sides are visible. I used those sharp curtain hooks (left over from the bedroom curtains) to hang them, and then use a little piece of purple ribbon to hold them together in the center. With a cheap light-blocking shade beneath it, it makes a great little makeshift curtain.

So there you have it! Hope you’ll hop on over to The Nesting Place and see what the other ladies have done with their windows!

5 Responses

  1. Those are all so nice, you did a great job!

  2. You know how to work it–mistreating on a budget, way to go!

  3. These are adorable, Jenni! Do torn up sheets tacked to the wall count as window mistreatments? Because that’s about all I’ve got, unless you count the heart garland and frog purse in my bedroom window.

  4. Great ideas and so creative! You did a super job!

  5. Looks good–they make a huge difference in a room!

Leave a Reply

