The Vegan Experiment

Hi!  I’m here!

Guess what I’ve been doing?   Well, you probably already figured it out from the title.  I’m eating vegan!

What does this mean?  It means no dairy, meat, or eggs.  I’m eating honey (some vegans don’t).  But yeah, like, mostly nothing animal-derived.

When did I start?  Gosh, darn-it.  I forget.  Vegetarian Week is May 19th – May 25th, but I started a few days before – I think it was the… 15th?  So yeah.  I’m gonna finish on the 25th.

How do I feel?  Great!  I miss some creaminess, but that’s all.  I feel less gross and “bleh” than normal.  And I haven’t had any trouble adjusting to the drop in protein – I think my 4 months without dairy taught my body how to handle the change.

Am I gonna stick with it?

I don’t know yet.  Probably not really.  I might try to do LESS, but I definitely want some cheese, and maybe some tuna, come 5/26.

I’ve talked about eventually being a casual vegan – someone who is mostly vegan at home, but doesn’t stress about eating lasagna at a friend’s house or getting an ice cream cake for their birthday.  And that is still my goal, but this wasn’t enough time to get ready.  I haven’t put the forethought into it that I would need to create livably creative menus, and I haven’t gotten up the guts to go out and buy some tofu or something.  I haven’t sat down and poured through hours of vegan recipes.  I haven’t gone to the grocery store and filled my cart with things from the health food section.  So my diet has been pretty limited.

I have, however, already lost 5 pounds, which was nice, since it has been many months since I’ve rid myself of any of my birthing fat.  I’m playing with the idea of having a Vegan Week once a month, to help clean out my body and lose a little weight without committing to a long-term lifestyle change just yet.

Anybody wanna do it with me?

4 Responses

  1. I was a vegan for over a decade and only became a non-vegan (still a vegetarian though) during my #3 pregnancy. It’s a very healthy yummy diet. =-) Have fun with it! A really good cookbook is “The Uncheese Cookbook” with all sorts of vegan cheese recipes.

  2. Good for you! I quit eating meat when I was in 7th grade. I still do some dairy though. I think the idea of being mostly & not stressing is great! Makes life easier & you are still eating so much healthier.

  3. I recently developed some dietary changes too, but my biggest problem was not dairy (I’m lactose-intolerant anyway), but the lack of seafood and eggs! So I took on the lose term of “Pescatarian” diet and I’m very happy with it!

  4. Vivian – I was actually thinking about doing that, too! I’ve been thinking about what the most natural human diet would be. Obviously there would be a lot of fresh fruits and vegetables. Maybe a little cooked, because humans have been able to start fires for a very, very long time. Maybe just a little bit of meat, but not much, since we can’t run fast and don’t have good teeth for chewing meat. Eggs, though, can be gathered easily enough. And fish are incredibly healthy and are not difficult to catch with a little ingenuity. Dairy makes no sense at all, but it sure tastes good!

Leave a Reply

