Just when you thought you were rid of me…

I’m back!

Did you miss me?

I didn’t actually go anywhere.  I was just playing hooky, blog-style.

When I was a junior in high school, I took a semester-long creative writing class.  One of our projects was to write up a small booklet of poetry.  Each poem had to be a different style (we had a list of styles to choose from), and they all had to fit a common theme.

I worked hard on that booklet, but I wasn’t happy with the end result.  When I wrote up the last page, which was supposed to be a “what I’ve learned” recap, I told my teacher that I had learned that it is “difficult to imitate inspiration.”  He circled that sentence and wrote a note of agreement alongside of it, and I’ve remembered that lesson ever since.

That’s what I’ve hit here.  I was trying to post every day, but it’s difficult to imitate inspiration.  I was getting burned out, and I wasn’t proud of the posts that I was putting up.  If I’m not having fun here, what’s the point, anyway?  And if I’m not going to write good stuff, why are you here?  Neither of us is getting paid for it!

So from now on, I post what I want to post, when I want to post it.  If I wanna do a Makeshift Monday, Tasty Tuesday, or Works-For-Me Wednesday, I will, but I’m not promising them every week.  If you don’t like checking here each day and not knowing if you’ll find something, get a feed reader and subscribe to me.

I’m done worrying about all y’all.  You’re here cuz you like me, right?  So, I may as well be 100% me.

SO THERE!

Okay, I feel better now.

Time to go get some chocolate chips find something to snack on drink a big glass of water.

2 Responses

  1. I understand totally! The blog should not rule your life! How’s the flu doing? Mine’s slowly getting better…I thought the second day I had it that I was going to get over it right away, but then DAY 3 hit like a ton of bricks and ever since I have been hacking and feeling like my throat has been invaded by razor blades!

  2. I think that’s a good plan.

    Sometimes it’s easier to get inspiration flowing when you have a daily discipline going; other times it’s better when creativity strikes.

    Do what’s best for you! Either way, better not to be a slave to the daily carnivals. Those can get old fast.

Leave a Reply

