Makeshift Monday: Crazy-Easy Yogurt Smoothie

I went to Fred Meyer a couple days ago, and, because I get ravenously hungry quite often (hurray for breastfeeding!?) and because I am a selfish little thang, I bought myself a drinkable yogurt “smoothie.” I drank about half of it, and then stuck it in the fridge when I got home.

So, today, when Ariel needed a snack, the yogurt smoothie caught my eye, and I poured it into one of her glasses and gave it to her. But when she started asking for “mo’ moothie,” I had to get creative.

Enter the tub of vanilla yogurt, milk, Ovaltine, and a re-purposed jar.

I’ve been saving glass jars to use as food storage, and I pulled out a 2-cup (more or less) jar and the corresponding lid. I spooned in some yogurt, poured in some milk, added a couple teaspoons of Ovaltine (a very popular drink around here), and shook it hard. It poured out into her glass with the same slightly-creamy texture that the yogurt had, and, although I didn’t personally try any ( I was trying to resist dairy because I have a cold), she assured me that it was “mmm, yummy! Yummy moothie!”

So there you go! An easy, drinkable treat that is healthy (Ovaltine isn’t perfect, but it isn’t bad), inexpensive, and doesn’t require the use of a blender or more than a few seconds of prep time. Whee!

2 Responses

  1. Sounds yummy. I’ll have to try that sometime. I hate using the blender for thirty seconds and then having to wash it…

  2. Just wanted to stop by and say thanks for your comment on my WFMW question. It really helped me.

    Blessings,
    Carol

Leave a Reply

