Revisiting My Resolutions

What were they, again?

Oh, yeah!

  • Become an early riser
  • Get Felicity to sleep in her crib at night
  • Keep my kitchen cleaner than I did this year
  • Flatten my stomach
  • Blog every day

So, how am I doing, you ask?

Well, I can’t say that I’ve become an early riser, although my average wake time is earlier than it was before. I’ve only gotten up at six maybe 3 times, probably 4 or 5 times at 6:30, but almost always before 8, which wasn’t true before. However, I’ve only practiced getting up to my alarm one day, so I’m probably capable of more if I just get my rear in gear.

I have a cold, though, so I’ll get my rear in gear later.

As I mentioned a while back, we got rid of Felicity’s swing, and she is now sleeping in her crib every night. Check! We put her down between 8 and 8:30pm, and she usually wakes up sometime between 6 and 7. The thing is, it was hard for me to realize that this really is “sleeping through the night,” because Ariel has been sleeping 8 to 8 for so long. But compared to the average 6-month-old, I’m thinking she’s doing pretty well!

Keep my kitchen cleaner than I did last year, eh? Well, on average, it probably has been a little cleaner, but that’s not saying much. I need to buckle down with this one – it’s so easy to get it all clean and then tell myself that I don’t need to worry about it for awhile. Of course, then it gets gross again. Repeat.

However, one thing that’s been helpful for keeping it clean is my new DIY kitchen cleaner. I love that I don’t have to make sure that everything is out of the way before I spray – no fear of ingesting this stuff! Even if my counters are cluttered, I can still spray down the clear spots, whereas before I would have hesitated to get cleaner mist all over everything on my counters. So much better!

The “Flatten My Stomach” resolution is coming along quite well, but only because it doesn’t require any effort. With a 6-month-old breastfeeding, my body is still in that natural postpartum shrinking mode, and the pants that fit me perfectly and looked sharp in November now make me look sloppy, what with their extra room in the seat.

It feels good to look in the mirror and see the improvement, but I really can’t take credit for it. And with Felicity being almost 6 months, it probably won’t keep going for long. Sometime in the next couple months, I’ll pull out the exercise ball and start actively working on my abs. Right now, though, it really isn’t on the top of my priority list.

“Blog Every Day” was my only unforgiving resolution, and so far I’m right on track! I joined Blog365 at the end of last year, and I have posted every day this year, whether here, at Makeshift Meals, Ellie and Fiffy Ann, or Budget Hippies. And I have enjoyed it so much! It’s great to get your thoughts and information out there and to get feedback and know that people’s lives are being enriched, be it ever-so-slightly, by what you write.

Oh, and remember all my I-suck drama and my decision to start living more consciously? Sorry I haven’t kept you all updated on that, but it’s hard to think of things at the end of the day. However, I can tell you that I HAVE been living more consciously, and feeling better about myself for it.

I don’t make the right choice every time, but often when I end up in a situation where I know that I can either do the right thing and feel deprived or do the wrong thing and feel bad about myself, I recognize the situation, step back and look at it, and then do the right thing. And it has been empowering.

So, now what?

Well, I don’t know. Obviously, I need to put more effort into the early riser resolution, although, as I mentioned, I need to get well first. I want to start on another one of my resolutions, too, but I haven’t decided which one yet. I’ll post again about it in the next couple weeks, and we’ll pick back up on the topic, ok?

Great! Enjoy the Super Bowl! And be sure to link me any funny commercials, because I’m stuck in our TV-free home with this stupid cold…

Leave a Reply

