I have come to a decision.

I have felt torn about this for awhile, but I have finally come to a decision that I think is best.
I am going to continue nursing Felicity. For as long as she is willing to nurse.
This was a hard decision to come to, since she’s allergic to dairy, and dairy has pretty much been my life.
But there are several reasons for my decision:

1. Allergy-prone babies are less likely to develop more allergies the longer they’re breastfed.

2. I would like to become vegan someday, and the elimination of dairy is certainly a good first step.

3. I have finally overcome my cravings, and no longer drool enviously when I am around milk or cheese. In fact, the only “dairy” items that I still struggle with are synthetic items like Cheese Nips, which goes to show how chemical-laden those things are.

4. I will not look back 10 years from now and regret missing out on dairy, but I might look back and regret choosing to wean my daughter early.

I still plan to try dairy at intervals to see if she reacts, but if she DOES react, it will simply mean my diet must stay dairy-free. While I want to achieve an essentially vegan diet for the health benefits, I don’t want to spend my whole life asking people if there is milk in the cookies that they baked for Mom’s Group. I look forward to having that flexibility.

So… wish me luck! I’m in it for the long haul!

Add to Technorati Favorites

4 Responses

  1. good girl! you know i’m so proud of you! so proud of you for going this long and proud of you committing to be in for the long haul. this was a huge decision and i really think you made the right choice! i so wish i had been able to nurse ivy longer- i know it was her decision, but it still makes me teary to think about. you’re smart to recognize the impact that your decision will have on you and F later. as i said, i’m so proud of you!!

  2. Yay for you! It is hard, but it’s doable. And it’s for SUCH a relatively short amount of time in your life and hers. I’m proud of you! 🙂

  3. I went through a similar dietary transformation for young Drew. I couldn’t eat dairy (for myself), and he couldn’t do soy. Made things interesting for sure, but he was such a happy healthy baby once we made the switch…and I didn’t mind leaving soycheeze behind so much after all.
    Love to all of you!
    Adrienne

  4. Good for you!

    Just found your blog and oh my goodness, I love the way you did your header. So creative!!!

Leave a Reply

