Confessions

I don’t want to live my life as a hypocrite.It’s easy enough to do. Most of us do it. I’m doing it, and it eats at me.

I do it every time that I read about something and agree with it, and then don’t do it. Which is typically multiple times a day.

I’m reading a blog by a guy who started on a raw food diet for the new year. It looks like a less-than-fun way to eat, but he’s already starting to get past the withdrawal stage and feel the benefits of living that way. It sounds amazing.

I was telling a friend the other day that I would like to be vegan someday. It’s the getting there that would be so dang hard.

I wouldn’t be hardcore vegan; I would be more like vegan 6 days a week or something. I wouldn’t swear off all animal products, but I would make them a rare occurrence.

And I’m sure that it would be that much healthier if most of my foods were raw – raw foods with living enzymes and energy (I’m talking about literal physical energy, not something spiritual, for anyone who thinks I’m going New Age. I’m talking about the fact that you can use a raw potato to power a digital clock).

How awesome would that be? I’d bet that I would feel so healthy and awake and alert and full of energy! And I would lower my chances of getting so many diseases!

…………………………………………..

I bought a 5 pound bag of tangerines 2 weeks ago. I’m the only person in our apartment (well, the only person with teeth) who has eaten less than one whole tangerine. I don’t want to. I think the membrane stuff is icky.

And I’m certain I consume more fat than Dan does, even now while I’m off of dairy products.

Obviously, there’s a major disconnect between what I think is the ideal and what I choose to do.

And I’m blogging at 12:30 AM when I’m supposed to be becoming an early riser. But that one isn’t as big of a deal, because I honestly believe that I can buckle down and accomplish that goal. But I don’t believe that I can become vegan. I don’t. I don’t believe I’m strong enough.

I don’t want to sit in this chair and read about how other people are changing their lives, and know that I will never join them because I don’t have the courage.

If I were to send a postcard to Post Secret, it would read:

“I’m missing out on everything my life could be because I’m too scared.”

or maybe,

“I want to believe that just reading about other people’s success makes me like them.”

Anybody out there in the same boat?

Add to Technorati Favorites

5 Responses

  1. First of all, stop making the agreement that you are a bad person. You are not a bad person! You are a redeemed person, remember? That Jesus thing? Yeah – he meant it!

    Okay, now start small. One thing at a time. It’s far less daunting that way! Look – with the dairy avoidance, you are already on your way to being vegan! Try adding some meat-free meals to your weekly repertoire. I can help with that!

    p.s. While I’m a vegetarian at home, I could never ever be a vegan – I love cheese and yogurt too much. I don’t think there’s anything wrong with eating humanely/naturally produced meat in small quantities. Everything (even the healthy stuff) in moderation! πŸ™‚

  2. yeah, i’m with laura. you need to dump the “i’m a bad person” tag. that’s just silly because we all know that you’re so totally not.

    we should make a plan to get together (sooner than originally planned) to talk about this. maybe we can collaborate and come up with some great recipes and take on this challenge together. i would be super excited to take this step with you. it would also help me launch into that test diet i’m supposed to be doing. πŸ™‚

    and for the record, i don’t think that this makes you hypocritical. this is just your brain contemplating a huge change. you’ve been doing your research and now you’re to the point where you’re ready to make a decision. it’s nothing more than that. don’t overthink it.

    and laura, i think you should post your meat-free meals… i’m so super interested!

  3. Hee hee! My project of 2008 is launching a recipe site for busy moms who want healthy food for their families. It’s slow going, but hopefully it will be arriving on the interweb soon! πŸ™‚

  4. LOL@vegan! you serious? bleh!. Read the bible or something, it has all sorts of places where even JESUS eats meat. Like, breaking of bread and stuff, they had fish.

    L2BELIKEJESUS

  5. […] I would like to become vegan someday, and the elimination of dairy is certainly a good first […]

Leave a Reply

