WFMW: Keepin’ the Colds at Bay!

This is that nasty time of year when everyone is sick with SOMETHING. So I’d like to share a recipe with you that has given me fabulous results in suppressing colds. Start drinking it (or giving it to your kids) as soon as you notice symptoms, and keep right on drinking it as pretty much all you drink, and you stand very good odds of skipping over the whole thing!

You will need:
4 cloves garlic
1 small piece (the size of half your thumb) of gingerroot
4 cups of boiling water
1/4 cup lemon juice
honey
Peel the garlic and chop it coarsely. Peel the gingerroot, as well. Steep both in the boiling water for 20 minutes, then remove. Add the lemon juice, and add honey to taste. Drink it warm as a comfy tea or cool as a refreshing lemonade.

Your immune system will thank you!

Add to Technorati Favorites

7 Responses

  1. I just posted a very similar recipe, except mine calls for cayenne pepper instead of ginger. Maybe I’ll try adding your ginger to my cayenne (sounds like a Reese’s commercial) and see what happens :-).

  2. All great ingredients for the immune system.
    Happy and Healthy New Year!

  3. i was just going to say how similar this was to robin’s recipe until i noticed her comment! this sounds just about as yucky as hers to me but i think i’ll have to try it:-) cuz anything’s better than a cold!

  4. I may have to try this. Tis the season for cruddy stuff.

  5. I’m intrigued, but…be honest: Does this taste utterly disgusting? I want to know the truth before I start boiling water and mincing garlic!

  6. I don’t think it tastes disgusting at all. The garlic is… surprising at first, but easy to adjust to. Just be sure to add plenty of honey! I can’t stomach tea, but I can drink this just fine!

  7. I’m curious about the taste, too. I mean, a cold is worse than something yucky tasting… but I like to know what I’m in for.

    Good tip! 🙂

Leave a Reply

