A Junkless Christmas

‘Tis the night before Christmas,
And all through the house
Not a present is wrapped
For my beloved spouse.

The stockings aren’t hung
In our home anywhere
And under our tiny tree
The counter is bare.

The toddler is nestled
All snug in her bed.
Tomorrow, she won’t
Play with phthalates or lead.

And Dan’s playing WoW
(As he does when he can),
While I sit here blogging
And nurse Fiffy Ann.

I’m not in a hurry
To wrap or to stuff.
Just look around –
We have more than enough!

Why tear wrapping paper
To shreds in a flash,
Then haul out three bags
Of Christmas-themed trash?

Why bring in more plastic
Or another cheap toy.
For those aren’t the things,
That bring us true joy.

My Ellie has one gift
To open Christmas morn,
And to open it, no paper
Will have to be torn.

Dear Fif has no gift,
But she’s too young to care.
We’ll get her one soon;
No rush – El can share!

As I look at the toys on the floor
I must smile,
For I know that their number
Won’t grow for awhile.

So I exclaim, as exhaustion
Robs me of my sight,
“A junkless Christmas to all,
And to all a good night!”

2 Responses

  1. AYE-MEN! man, i love this! we did minimal gifts this year and i’m still feeling like we did too much. they all fit nicely in a galvanized tub (and all translates to gifts for the girls and all grandparents), but i can’t help but wonder if we could have gotten away with even less. i know the answer….

    you should re-post this annually to remind yourself and the rest of us.

  2. You are quite the poet!

Leave a Reply

